Center for technologies in sports and medicine

Home > Success Stories > Center for technologies in sports and medicine

The BFH Centre for Technologies in Sports and Medicine has established a partnership between its four members, the Berner Fachhochschule (BFH), the Institute for Human Centered Engineering (HuCE), the Institute for Rehabilitation and Performance Technology (IRPT), the Health Department and EHSM Magglingen. This partnership enables key complementary technologies to be networked in the best possible way, developed efficiently and transferred effectively to other areas.

In application-oriented research and development, close interdisciplinary collaboration between experts in science and technology is key to the development of high-quality and user-friendly solutions for use in everyday practice. Technologies and processes are researched in order to create innovative and marketable products for SMEs, medical practices, hospitals and sports associations. The fields of research of the four member institutes form the basis for the interdisciplinary approach. Technologies and processes are further developed by experts from science and technology in close collaboration with the direct end users in the fields of high-performance sports and medicine. The aim is to improve the performance of top athletes through enhanced monitoring techniques and to provide doctors with new diagnostic tools and rehabilitation equipment.

 

Ensuring the health and safety of patients is central to medical products. Strict directives harmonized throughout Europe require continuous quality control and market surveillance. A certified quality management system is thus essential and is usually a pre-requisite for the approval and marketing of any medical product.

 

Through a unique procedure for a university, the Institute for Human Centered Engineering HuCE-microCert at the BFH became the first university in continental Europe to be ISO-13485 certified. This involved the compliance of the quality management system being proven through a complex evaluation process. This certification facilitates access to the European market (CE marking), creates a clear competitive advantage and also provides wide ranging potential for spin-offs and SMEs. With the ISO-13485 certification, the BFH Centre can now offer a complete medical technology package for SMEs, ranging from research through medically-compliant product development to production. HuCE-microCert offers consistent processes that ensure compliance with international guidelines and recognized standards and can also provide the necessary facilities for prototype production at the feasibility stage as well as for small series production in their own approved cleanrooms.

Scroll to Top

Das BFH-Zentrum Technologien in Sport und Medizin hat zwischen seinen vier Mitgliedern, der Berner Fachhochschule (BFH), dem Institute for Human Centered Engineering (HuCE), dem Institut für Rehabilitation und Leistungstechnologie (IRPT), dem Gesundheitsministerium und der Eidgenössischen Hochschule für Sport Magglingen (EHSM) eine Partnerschaft geschlossen. Durch diese Partnerschaft können wichtige Komplementärtechnologien optimal vernetzt, effizient weiterentwickelt und effektiv in andere Bereiche übertragen werden.

In der anwendungsorientierten Forschung und Entwicklung ist die enge interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit von Experten aus Wissenschaft und Technik entscheidend für die Entwicklung hochwertiger und benutzerfreundlicher Lösungen für den Einsatz in der alltäglichen Praxis. Technologien und Verfahren werden erforscht, um innovative und marktfähige Produkte für KMU, Arztpraxen, Spitäler und Sportverbände zu realisieren. Die Forschungsfelder der vier Mitgliedsinstitutionen bilden die Grundlage dieses interdisziplinären Ansatzes. Im Bereich Hochleistungssport und Medizin werden Technologien und Verfahren von Experten aus Wissenschaft und Technologie in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Endverbraucher entwickelt. Ziel ist dabei sowohl die Verbesserung der Leistung von Spitzensportlern durch verbesserte Überwachungstechnik als auch die Bereitstellung von diagnostischen Hilfsmitteln und Rehabilitationsgeräten für Ärzte.

Im Mittelpunkt bei der Anwendung dieser Medizinprodukte steht dabei die Gewährleistung von Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Patienten. Strenge, europaweit harmonisierte Richtlinien erfordern eine ständige Qualitätskontrolle sowie Marktüberwachung. Ein zertifiziertes Qualitätsmanagementsystem ist daher essentiell und üblicherweise Voraussetzung für die Anerkennung und Vermarktung aller Medizinprodukte.

Durch einen für eine Hochschule einmaligen Prozess ist das Institute for Human Centered Engineering HuCE-microCert an der BFH die erste universitäre Einrichtung in Kontinentaleuropa, die nach ISO 13485 zertifiziert wurde. Dies schliesst den Nachweis der Konformität des QM-Systems in einem komplexen Bewertungsverfahren ein. Das Zertifikat erleichtert den Zugang zum europäischen Markt (CE-Kennzeichnung), schafft einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil und bietet darüber hinaus grosses Potential für Spin-Off-Unternehmen und KMUs. Mit der ISO 13485-Zertifizierung kann das BFH-Zentrum nun das komplette Medizintechnik-Paket für KMUs anbieten, von der Forschung über medizinisch konforme Produktentwicklung und bis hin zur Produktion. HuCE-microCert bietet einheitliche Verfahren, die mit internationalen Richtlinien und anerkannten Normen konform sind und bietet darüber hinaus die notwendigen Einrichtungen zur Herstellung von Prototypen in der Entwicklungsphase oder für die Kleinserienproduktion in den eigenen zugelassenen Reinräumen.